Search: Keyword:
Daily Bulletin - 4.12 - Thursday
Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Oak Ridge High School Daily Bulletin



The final AP payment is due on Friday, April 13th to Mrs. Sumner in Main Office (F)Sumner

 All FBLA members who will be attending the State Leadership Conference should meet at 3:00 today in Room CS 345. (Th) – R. Archer

After school TODAY Seniors wishing to be in the Senior art Show meet to plan this year's event.This is a mandatory meeting in VA 102. We will discuss important roles and dates. (Th) – A. Wakefield

Only 8 weeks remain in the school year!  Get the help you need from the National Honor Society tutors from 3:00-3:45 on Tuesday and Thursday in the Guidance Office.  Justin Carroll and Huston Rogers will be tutoring on Tuesday and Ashley Parks and Jessica Braden will be tutoring on Thursday. (Th) – L. Bailey

All current National Honor Society members who wish to apply for the $500 local scholarship should pick up a scholarship form from Mrs. Bailey in LC-304.  Completed applications are due at 3:00 to Mr. Senter in LC 330 on Monday, April 16th. (Th) – L. Bailey

Congratulations to the following winners at the Technology Student Association State Conference held on April 1-4 in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

1st place: Desktop Publishing: Catherine Dadmun             1st place: Prepared Presentation: Eston Dunn

1st place: Promotional Graphics: Angelina Ortiz             2nd place: Essays on Technology: Eston Dunn

3rd place: Fashion Design: Angelina Ortiz, Meg Landon, Jenna Beckler, Amie Scott, Katherine Zhang

3rd place: Tech Bowl Written: Katherine Wheeler     3rd place: Tech Bowl Orals: Katherine Wheeler, Katherine Zhang, and Chris Friend

4th place: Chapter Team: Ashley Parks, Catherine Dadmun, Katherine Zhang, Katherine Wheeler, Abby Colvais, and Sydney Buckner

 Ashley Parks also received the Dustin Heavilon Memorial Scholarship for Engineering.   Katherine Wheeler was elected State Secretary.

Sydney Buckner, Catherine Dadmun, Angelina Ortiz, Andy Tatum, Kristin Moretz received the Silver Achievement Award.   (Th) – E. Vaughan



Last chance sale for this year's yearbook!!! April 19th!!! Make sure you have a copy of the yearbook! Come by the arena kiosk on April 19th before school, during lunch, or after school to purchase your copy of this year's Oak Log for $55.00. This is the LAST opportunity to guarantee your purchase of a yearbook. Please call Ms. Noe at 3120 or email with any questions. April 19th! Be there! Get your yearbook! (xTh) – C. Noe

If you are bringing a guest to the  Junior-Senior prom who does not go to the Oak Ridge High School you must register your guest in the Student Services Office no later than Friday, April 20th. (Tu, Th) – C. Wilson

The girls’ basketball team will be sponsoring Soles4 Souls. Anyone interesting in donating their old shoes please place them in one of the bins located around school or contact Coach Karra Jackson. (xTu) – K. Jackson


Youth Advisory Board - UPCOMING EVENTS 

The Youth Advisory Board (YAB) is currently accepting applications for the 2012-2013 YAB Election.  Applications are due June 1, 2012.  Sixteen applicants will be confirmed and appointed by City Council to serve a one-year term of office that commences on August 1, 2012. To be considered, applicants must be residents of Oak Ridge and entering grade levels 8th through 12th.  Participation on the YAB requires attendance at bi-monthly meetings on Wednesdays at 2:00 p.m., as well as at special events that are held throughout the year.  All interested students are encouraged to fill out the new, on-line application which is available on the City Clerk’s Departmental Website or at  Paper applications are available in the Student Services Office at Oak Ridge High School, and at the front desk of the Civic Center.

The City YAB is hosting a dance for Freshmen & Sophomores at the Paradox Teen Center THIS Friday, April 13th from 6pm-9pm.  Admission is $4.00.  Razzleberry’s will be selling concessions on site.  For more information, contact ORHS students Kelsey Warmbrod, Patricia Edou, Shane Harris, or Cali Brousal.


View all Latest News